$10. an hour or $150 for entire 16 hour course.
There are 16-course hours available. Stand-alone courses can be taken to complete mandatory hours.
Each individual applicant for renewal of a real estate license issued by the MREC shall, on or before the expiration date of his license, or at a time directed by the commission, submit proof of completion of not less than sixteen (16) clock hours of approved course work to the commission, in addition to any other requirements for renewal.
The sixteen (16) clock hours’ course work requirement shall apply to each two – year license renewal, and hours in excess thereof shall not be accumulated or credited for the purposes of subsequent license renewals.
The Real Estate License Continuing Education Statute
Each individual applicant for renewal of a license issued by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission shall, on or before the expiration date of his license, or at a time directed by the commission, submit proof of completion of not less than sixteen (16) clock hours of approved course work to the commission, in addition to any other requirements for renewal.
The sixteen (16) clock hours’ course work requirement shall apply to each two-year license renewal, and hours in excess thereof shall not be cumulated or credited for the purposes of subsequent license renewals.
The commission shall develop standards for approval of courses and shall require certification of such course work of the applicant. The commission may determine any required subject matter within the mandated sixteen (16) hours; provided that the required subjects shall not exceed eight (8) hours of the total sixteen (16) hours.
Approved continuing education hours earned in the final three (3) months of a licensee’s renewal period, if in excess of the required minimum sixteen (16) hours, may be carried over and credited to the next renewal period. However, no more than six (6) hours may be carried over in this manner.
Any member of the Mississippi Legislature who has a real 41 estate license shall be credited with eight (8) hours of credit for the attendance of each year of a legislative session. No person may receive continuing education credit for pre-license education courses taken, except as follows: a licensee whose license is on inactive status and whose continuing education credits are at least thirty (30) hours in arrears may, at the discretion of the commission, receive continuing education credit for retaking pre-license coursework, provided the entire pre-license course is retaken.
This section shall apply to renewals of licenses which expire on and after July 1, 1994; however, an applicant for first renewal who has been licensed for not more than one (1) year shall not be required to comply with this section for the first renewal of the applicant’s license.
The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons who have held a broker’s or salesperson’s license in this state for at least twenty-five (25) years and who are older than seventy (70) years of age. Inactive licensees are not required to meet the real estate continuing education requirements specified in this section; however, such inactive licensees, before activating their license to active status, must cumulatively meet requirements missed during the period their license was inactive.
A renewal of a license issued by the commission which expires after June 30, 2019, must include a current email address for the applicant. Any email address previously provided by an applicant to the commission which is no longer valid, or the primary email address of the applicant must be updated when a renewal application is submitted under this section.
The commission shall promulgate rules and regulations as necessary to accomplish the purposes of this section in accordance with the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law.
There is a $3 surcharge for all credit card transactions.