We can answer your real estate license questions.
How do I get my real estate license in Mississippi? 🍏
Step One: Take the 60 hours Pre-Exam Course.
Day School is 9 days🍏
Monday thru Friday
Monday thru Thursday
Hours: 9 am to 4:30 pm
Night School is 15 days 🍏
Monday thru Friday
Hours: 6 pm to 10 pm
What is the tuition? 🍏
Access to all the classroom locations.
Online support, quizzes, videos, puzzles, games, powerpoints @ goretionline.com
What do we learn in the class? 🍏
The Pre Exam Course focuses on the 260 things a real estate applicant needs to know in order to pass the real estate exam.
The course uses repetition of material in order to successfully retain the information.
What is the exam like? 🍏
The exam is made up of two (2) exams.
The first exam you will be taking deals with Mississippi state specific license law. There are 40 questions. You will need a 75% score to pass.
Once you are finished with this exam, most students will get a drink of water or use the restroom.
When you are ready to take the second exam, the computer will prompt you to get started.
The second exam concentrates on general (basic) real estate concepts that are recognized throughout the real estate world. There are 80 questions. You will need to score at 70% to pass.
All students have six (6) months to complete the course without further fees. After six (6) months until one (1) year, students may have to pay for updated books. After the one (1) year anniversary of signing up for a course with Real Estate Training Institute, all courses must be fully successfully completed. If no certificate has been issued during the one year, students must pay full tuition to continue.
No tuition refunds will be made after the course has begun.
Have more real estate license questions? Call: (228) 354-8585
Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements
Mississippi real estate salesperson license requirements
Every applicant for a resident license as a real estate salesperson shall be
- age eighteen (18) years or over
- a bona fide resident of the State of Mississippi prior to filing his application
- have successfully completed a minimum of sixty (60) hours in courses in real estate
- have successfully completed the real estate salesperson’s examination
Mississippi real estate broker license requirements
Every person who applies for a resident license as a real estate broker:
- shall be age twenty-one (21) years or over
- have his legal domicile in the State of Mississippi at the time he applies
- shall be subject to the jurisdiction of this state, subject to the income tax laws and other excise laws thereof, subject to the road and bridge privilege tax laws thereof
- shall not be an elector in any other state
- shall have held a license as an active real estate salesperson for twelve (12) months immediately prior to making an application for the broker’s examination hereafter specified
- shall have successfully completed a minimum of one hundred twenty (120) hours of courses in real estate as hereafter specified
- shall have successfully completed the real estate broker’s examination as hereafter specified
- shall have successfully been cleared for licensure by the commission’s background investigation
Temporary licenses; post-license education
- Upon passing the Mississippi broker’s or salesperson’s examination and complying with all other conditions for licensure, a temporary license shall be issued to the applicant.
- A temporary license shall be valid for a period of one (1) year following the first day of the month after its issuance.
Salesperson Post License Course
In the post-license course for salesperson licensees, a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours of the thirty-hour coursework shall be in the following subjects: agency relationships, contracts, earnest money, antitrust, fair housing, ethics and property condition disclosure. The remaining six (6) hours shall be in subjects intended to enhance the competency of salesperson licensees in representing consumers, and may include the following subjects: pricing property, environmental issues, home inspections, leases and property management, and mortgage processes
Broker Post License Course
In the post-license course for broker licensees, a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours of the thirtyhour coursework shall be in the following subjects: managing escrow accounts, intraoffice confidentiality, broker responsibilities to licensees, office policies and procedures (including agency office policies), broker agreements with licensees and assistants and Mississippi Real Estate Commission required forms and any other subject as the commission may, by rule, require to be included in such course. The remaining six (6) hours shall be in subjects intended to enhance the competency of brokers, including, without limitation, managing agents, recruiting, retention, budgeting and financial planning.
Nonresident’s license; application
A nonresident may apply for a nonresident’s license in Mississippi provided the individual is
- a licensed broker in another state or
- a broker/salesperson or salesperson affiliated with a resident or nonresident Mississippi broker or
- a nonresident who applies for a broker’s license and who will maintain an office in Mississippi.
The nonresident broker need not maintain a place of business within Mississippi provided he is regularly actively engaged in the real estate business and maintains a place of business in the other state.
The nonresident licensee or applicant shall be subject to all the provisions of this chapter except for the residency requirement and approved equivalent pre-licensing education.
License renewal; continuing education requirements
Each individual applicant for renewal of a license issued by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission shall, on or before the expiration date of his license, or at a time directed by the commission, submit proof of completion of not less than sixteen (16) clock hours of approved course work to the commission, in addition to any other requirements for renewal.
The sixteen (16) clock hours’ course work requirement shall apply to each two-year license renewal, and hours in excess thereof shall not be cumulated or credited for the purposes of subsequent license renewals except as provided by MREC.
The Mississippi Real Estate Commission dictates the information and courses needed to obtain and maintain your real estate license. Real Estate Training Institute recommends you contact the Commission for more detailed information or changes.
- Lefleur’s Bluff Tower, Suite 300
- 4780 I-55 North, Jackson, MS 39211
- P. O. Box 12685
- Jackson, MS 39236(601) 321-6970 – Office